亞太經濟與管理研究所成員獲資助項目

我們的研究團隊致力於通過我們的項目產生社會影響。如貴組織有興趣成為我們的合作機構之一,歡迎透過 apaem_info@um.edu.mo 與我們聯繫。

亞洲經濟

貨幣政策與補貼政策對科技創新和技術轉移在全球經濟框架下的影響研究

首席研究員: 楊毅柏教授

該研究項目將探討全球經濟中兩種政策制度(貨幣政策和補貼政策)對創新和技術轉讓的影響。這項研究將包括兩個研究課題,(a)貨幣政策(從通貨膨脹角度)和(b)補貼政策(從研究補貼角度)在跨國公司的對外直接投資中(FDI)是如何影響創新和技術轉移。

在開放型經濟中,尤其是對亞洲經濟體而言,科技創新對於維持長期經濟增長的作用日益重要。通貨膨脹為製造業與研發(R&D)投資帶來額外的成本負擔,而補貼是影響技術改進和經濟增長的一個關鍵政策工具。因此,這些政策工具在跨國公司的技術轉移中發揮著至關重要的作用。該項目期望在理論探索和政策建議方面作出貢獻。

本研究項目將系統地描述觀察結果。然後通過建立具有優化和內生經濟增長的動態一般均衡框架,分析研究兩種政策工具對創新和技術轉移的影響。最後,該研究通過將理論模型校準為現實數據來量化政策工具的影響。

特許協議最優設計

首席研究員: 黃耀錕博士

本研究項目以澳門賭場特許經營為研究動機,探討政府特許經營協議的社會最優設計。特許經營者,即獲得特許的公司,通過經營賺取利潤,但同時被期望在經營期間從事社會責任活動。基於各種原因,特許經營者對開展這些活動的動力一般都很低。首先,開展這些社會責任活動成本高昂。其次,政府難以監督特許經營者對於這些活動所投放的努力。政府一般只能利用一些可觀察到的結果去片面地推斷特許經營者所投放的努力。最後,政府很難評估這些可觀察到的結果,因為他們不熟悉特許經營者的內部資訊,如運營成本等。

因此,設計能夠為特許經營者提供誘因去披露其內部資訊並努力開展社會責任活動的特許協議極為重要。本研究項目以博弈論為基礎,闡述了特許經營的最優結構,如授予特許經營的數量及時間,以及政府應如何篩選特許經營申請人並如何決定得標申請人。此項研究期望為澳門賭場及其他公用事業單位的特許經營協定提供了政策啟示。

金融創新

金融技術對澳門銀行和中小企業的影響

首席研究員: 黎寧教授

合作機構: 中國銀行

許多研究發現,新型冠狀病毒疫情對消費者的生活方式產生了深遠的影響,改變了他們的購物和消費模式,使得更傾向網上購物。雖然澳門疫情比世界各地都溫和,但消費者的消費方式也有所改變。另外,澳門政府已計劃加大數字經濟發展,其中包括金融技術。銀行與移動支持提供商之間的移動支付和資金轉移是金融技術的一些簡單形式。

智能投資顧問在澳門的應用

首席研究員: 任錦娟教授

合作機構: 大西洋銀行

在澳門急需普惠金融服務的推動下,此項目計劃開發一個為澳門居民提供低門檻,低成本及高效能的投資建議和理財服務的人工智能顧問系統。該系統基於大數據和機器學習技術,透過收集和分析有關投資者個人特徵的數據,評估他們的風險態度及投資組合。並根據現代資產定價理論優化投資組合,進一步為其家庭提供全面的終身財務計劃。項目將進一步利用大學教育的優勢將金融知識和教育融入系統中。

區域鏈在澳門國際商事仲裁中的應用研究

首席研究員: 涂廣建教授

澳門作爲中國與葡語國家的經濟與貿易合作平臺,在國際商業糾紛處理上處於獨特的位置。根據特區政府的長遠政策,計劃把澳門建立為一個國際仲裁中心以解決中國和葡語國家(包括巴西、葡萄牙、莫桑比克、安哥拉、聖多美普林西比、幾内亞比索、維德角和東帝汶)之間的商業糾紛。在網絡時代,很多信息都是以電子化傳送、儲存和處理的。在仲裁的角度,仲裁機構需要提取、儲存和使用電子數據;另一方面,他們需要防止網絡攻擊以及保證信息安全。但不幸地,到目前爲止仲裁機構很少應用像區塊鏈這一類的先進技術。仲裁機構也可以利用先進技術去管理案件和訴訟。透過分析區塊鏈技術的應用,此項目將會識別出區塊鏈如何可以幫助澳門仲裁機構,如協助他們確保網絡安全和信息保密,以及案件管理,從而推動澳門成爲著名的仲裁中心。

通過在澳門特別行政區和粵港澳大灣區部署分佈式賬本技術的應用和其配套的相關法律來增強數字經濟發展和政府治理能力

首席研究員: 涂廣建教授

分佈式分類帳技術(DLT)的範圍和潛力正逐漸被不同國家和市場所認知,其中包括了區塊鏈在加强經濟發展和有效治理的應用。該技術的性質在保證其發展和利用網絡中不同的節點來跨越不同邊界的同時,帶來了許多技術上和法律上的挑戰,而這需要全面地解決以保證能採用任何透明、可信賴以及高效的DLT應用。所建議的跨學科項目擬:

  1. a) 評估特定的DLT用以加强經濟發展和有效治理的潛力;
  2. b) 識別出DLT應用在澳門特區和粵港澳大灣區所需要面對相關技術上和法律上的挑戰
  3. c) 爲了更廣泛地採用DLT,識別有關DLT的便利和補救措施。首先,該項目會系統性地學習所需要的技術、基礎設施和法律環境以部署DLT在各方面的潛在應用,並且針對DLT應用在澳門特區與中國内地、香港以及其他司法管轄區對經濟層面和公共治理方面作出全面評估。其次,該項目會探索特定的跨境在技術上和法律上的合作或協調措施,用以促進在粵港澳大灣區的經濟交易。

基於正則化方法追蹤高維金融指數研究

首席研究員: 舒連杰教授

於金融指數跟蹤而言,為了避免小倉位和流動性不足以及高交易成本。在實踐中,通常可採用只有少量資產的稀疏跟蹤投資組合。傳統方法直接限制股票個數,問題很難求解以及計算量很大,因為由此產生的優化問題是 NP-hard. 鑒於其計算高效和可自動選擇變數特性,該項目採用源自高維統計的正則化技術,用於高維稀疏指數跟蹤。

高速金融資產走勢預測系統

首席研究員: 顏至宏教授

項目整合澳門大學科技學院的數學學系以及計算機與資訊科學系以及工商管理學院金融系頂尖教授以及科研團隊,針對澳門以及大灣區金融行業未來需求,開發具有自主知識産權的高速資産走勢預測系統,可以支持股指、大宗商品以及外匯的高頻交易策略選擇以及産品定價。項目主要創新點在于開發新的引申波動率計算模型,整合傳統數值分析和人工智能計算方法的框架可以在CPU幷行處理以及高能計算環境的硬件加速器(GPU,ASIC, FPGA)上運行,進行資産走勢預測。

金融科技作為融資來源和平台的問題與機遇

首席研究員: 黎寧教授

金融科技為金融體系帶來了迅速的變革,其中金融科技融資正迅速成長,成爲新資金來源。有別於傳統銀行,金融科技透過使用大量的信息(如:大數據)來有效地查驗借款人信用,讓小型投資者能進行更具彈性和更吸引的投資選擇。在支付方面,金融科技允許即使身處偏遠地區的市民也能使用不同資金來源以及改變消費行爲,從而促進了包容性金融的發展。但龐大的資金來源也並非沒有缺點。非銀行業提供金融科技融資會形成影子銀行體系,超出審慎的銀行體系宏觀監察系統而成爲增加金融體系脆弱性的新來源。此學術研究項目旨在分析三方面的金融科技問題:第一項研究涵蓋金融科技為金融體系帶來的潛在金融風險的理論研究和實證的分析;第二項研究是針對P2P平臺所創造的機遇和風險分析;第三項研究是關於金融科技融資以及不同消費模式的線上支付平台的分析。

智慧旅遊

歷史建築之VR智慧導賞

首席研究員: 黃承發教授

一些建築物歷史以口頭形式保存的文化最近開始消失。在這個項目中,我們搭建了一個智能導覽平台,收集和分享了許多具有歷史意義和特色的建築的模型和介紹。真實建築物以3D 建模方式記錄。該平台通過虛擬現實 (VR) 技術展示 3D 模型、結構材料和內部細節

基於深度強化學習之個人化旅遊規劃機器人

首席研究員: 黃承發教授

由於遊客不熟悉目的地,制定旅遊行程對他們來說是一個阻礙。這個項目旨在提供一個使用深度強化學習的個人化旅遊行程機器人。旅遊行程被視為具有搜索空間的定向運動問題(OP),而景點的吸引度和距離資訊能轉換成圖結構。 因此,我們決定設計一個圖神經網路來預測路線,並為澳門的定制旅遊行程設計一個移動應用程序。

通過用戶生成數據來提高旅遊目的地競爭力的研究

首席研究員: 羅振雄教授

“什麼使旅遊目的地具有競爭力?”是旅遊和酒店管理的核心問題之一。對於遊客和所有利益相關者,包括居民、旅遊從業者和政策制定者,了解旅遊目的地的表現以及什麼使它們具有競爭力是很重要的一環。在過去的三十年裡,人們在幫助評估和衡量旅遊目的地其與全球其他地方相比的競爭優勢作出了重大努力。然而,儘管旅遊學者對該話題十分感興趣,但仍然存在許多理論和方法的爭論問題。“誰來定義什麼使旅遊目的地具有競爭力?”這關鍵問題便涉及到認識論的基礎。

該項目旨在解決這個問題,以更好地了解旅遊目的地的競爭力,最終提高目的地的戰略定位。我們以澳門為案例研究背景,並建議採納創新的人工智能方法,使用用戶生成的數據,在概念和方法上促進對“什麼使旅遊目的地具有競爭力”的理解,然後可以通過補充定性分析進行擴展,以對提高旅遊目的地的競爭力產生影響。重要的是,我們還解決了當前現實世界裡非常嚴重的問題,以確保長期復蘇及澳門企業、居民和未來旅客的繁榮。

相關旅遊目的地需求預測

首席研究員: 羅振雄教授

隨著區域基礎設施的建設,例如新的交通、新的航班路線、新的高速公路和地鐵,該區域的旅遊需求越來越依賴於附近的城市和國家。如港珠澳大橋連接了澳門、香港和珠海這三個珠江三角洲的主要地區。這座橋的建設不僅促進了整個珠三角的經濟發展,而且還形成了可以顯著縮短旅行時間的旅遊圈(Tian & Jiang, 2018)。相應地,這三個地區的旅遊需求可能會受到旅遊圈內各個城市的深刻變化和影響,現有單一目的地旅遊需求的預測方法不足以讓公共和私營部門在旅遊圈內進行整體規劃。因此,本項目旨在探索旅遊圈內旅遊需求的可預測性,構建深度學習模型圖像來預測旅遊圈的多目的地旅遊需求,並分析旅遊圈內的競爭情況。

Funded Projects for APAEM Members.

Our research team strives to have societal impact with our projects. If your organization is interested in becoming one of our collaborators, please contact us at apaem_info@um.edu.mo. 

Financial Innovation

Impact of Financial Technology (Fintech) on Banking and Small-Medium Enterprises (SMEs)

Principal Investigator: Prof. Rose Neng LAI

Industry Collaborator: BOC

Many global research institutes have proven that COVID-19 has profound impact on our livelihoods and lifestyles, shifting how consumers shop, spend and consume. even though the pandemic situation in Macao is much milder than the rest of the world, consumption patterns have still gone through significant changes. In addition, the Macao government has planned to increase the development of the digital economy, including financial technology (Fintech). Mobile payments and money transfers between banks and mobile payment providers are some simple forms of Fintech. Through this study, we attempt to analyze the potential penetration of “Simple Pay” initiated by the Monetary Authority of Macao (AMCM), as well as implications to the small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

The Application of Robo-Advisor in Macau

Principal Investigator: Prof. Jinjuan REN

Industry Collaborator: BNU

Motivated by the urgent need for inclusive finance in Macau, we plan to develop a Robo-advisor system to provide Macau residents with low-threshold, low-cost, and effective investment advice and financial planning services. This system is based on big data and machine learning technologies. We plan to collect and analyze data on investors’ personal traits, assess their risk attitude, evaluate their portfolios, optimize portfolios based on modern asset pricing theory, and further provide comprehensive and whole-life financial planning for households. We will further utilize the advantage of university education and build in financial literacy and education into the system.

Application of Blockchain Technology in Macau International Commercial Arbitration

Principal Investigator: Prof. Guangjian TU

As a platform for economic and trade cooperation between China and Portuguese-speaking countries, Macau takes a unique position in the field of international commercial dispute resolution. According to the long-term policy of the SAR government, Macau is intended to be built up as an international arbitration center for resolving commercial disputes between enterprises from China and Portuguese-speaking countries (Brazil, Portugal, Mozambique, Angola, Sao Tome and Principe, Guinea-Bissau, Cape Verde, and East Timor). In the internet age, a lot of information has to be transmitted, stored and handled electronically. In the case of arbitration, on the one hand, arbitration institutions need to extract, store and make use of electronic data; on the other hand, they need to prevent cyber attacks and ensure the security of data. Unfortunately, arbitral institutions has so far rarely utilized advanced technology such as Blockchain. They also can take advantage of the advanced technology for their case management and trials. Through analyzing the application of Blockchain technology, this project will identify how Blockchain can really help arbitration institutions in Macau e.g. in ensuring cyber security and data confidentiality and managing cases so as to promote Macau to become a popular arbitration center.

Augmentation of Digital Economy and Governance Through Deployment and Legal Recognition of Distributed Ledger Technology Applications in Macao SAR and Greater Bay Area

Principal Investigator: Prof. Guangjian TU

The scope and potential of Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLTs) including the Block Chain in the enhancement of economic development and effective governance are increasingly realized in various countries and markets around the world. The nature of the technology, warranting the development and use of different nodes of a network that could span across various borders, creates numerous technological and legal challenges, which needs to be comprehensively addressed in order to ensure the adoption of any transparent, reliable and efficient DLT applications. The proposed interdisciplinary project intends to

  1. assess the potential of specific DLT applications for enhancement of economic development and effective governance,
  2. identify relevant technological and legal challenges facing its prospective deployment in Macau SAR and Greater Bay Area (GBA) and
  3. propose relevant remedial and facilitation measures for wider adoption of the technology. Firstly, the project will systematically study the technology, infrastructure and legal environment necessary for the potential deployment DLT applications in various facets of the economy and public governance in Macau SAR in a comparative assessment with China, Hong Kong and other relevant jurisdictions. Secondly, the project will explore specific cross-border technological and legal cooperation/harmonization measures essential for facilitating economic transactions in the GBA region.

High-Dimensional Financial Index Tracking based on the Regularization Approach

Principal Investigator: Prof. Jet Lianjie SHU

For financial index tracking, a sparse tracking portfolio with only a small number of assets is often desirable in practice in order to avoid small and illiquid positions and large transaction costs. The tradition way of using Cardinality constraints to directly to limit the number of stocks is if often difficult and computationally intensive as the resulting optimization problem is NP hard. Owing to its computational efficiency and variable selection properties, this project employs the regularization technique originating from high-dimensional statistics for sparse index tracking in high dimensions.

High-Speed Financial Asset Movement Forecasting System

Principal Investigator: Prof. Jerome YEN

This project integrates top research teams and professors in Mathematics and Computer Science of FST and Finance of FBA in UM to develop a very high-speed asset movement forecasting system with Independent Intellectual Property Rights (IIPRs), which focus on the future demand of financial industry in Greater Bay Area, supporting market benchmark, commodities, foreign exchanges, high-speed trading strategy selection and pricing for financial products. The innovative idea of the project is that to develop the implied volatility calculation model, with the scope of integration of traditional numerical analysis and artificial intelligence calculation by parallel processing on CPU and on hardware accelerator with high energy computing environment (e.g. GPU, ASIC, FPGA), to forecast asset movement.

Problems and Opportunities of Fintech as Sources and Platform of Financing

Principal Investigator: Prof. Rose Neng LAI

Financial Technology (Fintech) has brought in swift evolution to the financial system, and Fintech finance has grown rapidly to become new sources of funding, which distinguishes from traditional banking by using a lot more information through, for example, Big Data, particularly on credit checks of borrowers, while allowing small investors new choices of flexible and attractive investments. On the payment side, Fintech has facilitated financial inclusion that allows people in even remote areas to be able to use sources of funding as well as change consumption behaviour. This powerful source is however not without downside. When Fintech finance is offered outside of the banking sector, it becomes a new source of shadow banking beyond the scrutiny of the macroprudential banking system, creating a new source of financial fragility. This project attempts to include a collection of studies that analyze issues of Fintech. The first study covers theoretical and empirical analyses on the potential financial risks that Fintech can create to the financial system. The second is an analysis of the opportunities and risks created by the P2P platforms. The third one is to analyze the impact of Fintech financing and online payment platforms on patterns of consumption.

Smart Tourism

A Smart Guided Tour Via VR for Historic Buildings

Principal Investigator: Prof. Alfred Send Fat WONG

A part of the building’s cultural history preserved in oral form has disappeared recently. In this project, we build a smart guided tour platform to collect and share the models and introductions of many buildings with historical significance and characteristics. the real-world buildings are digitally recorded based on 3D modeling. The platform shows the 3D models, structural materials, and internal details with virtual reality (VR) technology.

A Custom Tour Itinerary Robot based on Deep Reinforcement Learning

Principal Investigator: Prof. Alfred Seng Fat WONG

Making a tour itinerary is an obstacle to visitors due to the unfamiliarity of the destination. This project aims to provide a custom tour itinerary robot using deep reinforcement learning. Tour itinerary is considered as the orienteering problem (OP) with search space. Therefore, we decide to train a graph model for predicting the route with reinforcement learning and create a mobile app for a custom tour itinerary in Macau.

Advancing Tourist Destination Competitiveness via Leveraging User-Generated Data

Principal Investigator: Prof. Rob LAW

The question “What makes a tourist destination competitive?” is one of the central questions in tourism and hospitality management. Understanding how tourist destinations perform and what makes them competitive is important for tourists and all the stakeholders involved, including residents, tourism practitioners, and policymakers (Andrades et al., 2017). Significant efforts in helping tourism destinations evaluate and measure their competitive advantage compared with that of other destinations worldwide were exerted over the past three decades (Xia et al., 2019; 2020). Yet, a number of theoretical and methodological issues remain, despite the great interest in the topic by tourism scholars. One key question relates to the epistemological underpinnings of “Who defines what makes the tourist destination competitive “?
This project aims addresses this question to better understand tourist destination competitiveness to ultimately improve strategic positioning of destinations. We use Macao as a Case Study context and propose to adopt innovative AI methods, using user-generated data to both conceptually and methodologically advance the understanding of ‘what makes tourist destinations competitive,’ which can then be extended with complementary qualitative analysis to create an impact on improving tourist destination competitiveness. Importantly, we also address the current highly significant real-world problem to ensure long-term recovery to ensure the prosperity of Macao businesses, residents, and future tourists alike.

Tourism Demand Forecasting for Multi-Destinations

Principal Investigator: Prof. Rob LAW

With the building of infrastructure for the region, such as new transportation, new flight routes, new highway and metro, the tourism demand of the region becomes more depending on nearby cities and countries. For example, the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau bridge could connect Macao, Hong Kong, and Zhuhai, three major regions on the Pearl River Delta. The building on this bridge not only promotes economic development of the whole Pearl River Delta, but also creates a tourism clique with significant reducing on traveling time (Tian & Jiang, 2018). Accordingly, tourism demand of these three regions could be deeply changed and influenced by every city within the tourism clique, and existing tourism demand forecasting methods on single destination is insufficient to allow the public and private sectors to make the collective plan within the tourism clique. Hence, this project aims to explore the predictivity of tourism demand forecasting for the tourism clique, build the graph deep learning model to forecast the multi-destination tourism demand for the tourism clique and analysis the competitiveness circumstance within the tourism clique.