背景

智慧旅遊是人們經常聽到或閱讀的流行語這些天。與澳門有什麼相關?澳門回歸二十年以來,成功地成為國際上受歡迎的旅遊勝地,為澳門本身的強勁經濟增長做出貢獻。為了保持這種勢頭,採用智慧旅遊可以形成創新旅遊業、提高服務品質、為遊客提供難忘的體驗的基礎。

智慧旅遊技術可以在三個層面提高有效性和效率:政府制定總體旅遊戰略的目的地層面、酒店及相關行業提供服務的公司層次、以及遊客體驗目的地所提供的服務的個人級別。

目標

在澳門旅遊業的牢固基礎上,澳門大學亞太經濟與管理研究所 (APAEM) 成立了智慧旅遊團隊,旨在助力澳門發展,特別是在發展智慧旅遊,使遊客和本地企業受益,提高生活品質及支援可持續發展。團隊將從三個角度應對這挑戰:

充分利用澳門在智慧旅遊中的獨特性

  • 中葡文化:我們要充分利用澳門在智慧旅遊中的獨特性,澳門擁有四百多年的中葡文化難得融合,這種共生關係在城市景觀和生活結構上留下了不可磨滅的印記。澳門在制定旅遊策略時,應充分有效地運用這一寶貴財富;
  • 澳門歷史中心被聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產:澳門被聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產。2005年澳門二十多個遺址被聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產。這種地位的提升,使澳門成為世界級的旅遊勝地。同樣,為了維持這美好的稱號,我們在城市發展上也作出了不少的犧牲。為了平衡城市社會經濟發展的成本和效益,應作出更多努力,更好地促進和管理這些寶貴的資源。多年來,澳門的旅遊特性就是某些旅遊熱點擠滿了遊客,而另一些區分雖然近在咫尺則處於閑置狀態。有鑑於此,更好的智慧旅遊技術有助優化給遊客提供資訊,引導遊客到不同地點,為遊客提供更豐富的體驗,同時促進長期可持續性。
  • 綜合旅遊:發展綜合旅遊業是澳門旅遊業的一大目標。目前,澳門遊客的平均停留時間相對較短。為了擴大遊客的逗留時間,最好發展更多樣化的活動和服務,以吸引多日逗留。例如,澳門及其鄰國珠海和橫琴可以合作,協調跨境旅遊線路,提供多方面景點。為了促進此類舉措,利用創新技術的智慧旅遊可以發揮主動作用,為遊客提供利用旅遊資源的無縫體驗。

加強業界、教育和研究合作

澳門旅遊發展局的智慧旅遊團隊將促進業界、教育及研究在發展澳門智慧旅遊方面更緊密的合作。目前,澳門不少中小企業已生產相關產品及應用,部分已銷往內地。亞太經濟與管理研究所可以作為一個平臺,讓這些行業能夠走到一起,在人才培養和資源匹配等領域產生協同效應以滿足澳門的需求。

進行深入研究

為了應對長期挑戰,需要確定更廣泛的發展方向。要實現這目標,將聯同工商管理學院、法學院、科技學院以及社會科學學院的參與者作跨學科合作。亞太經濟與管理研究所 的智慧旅遊團隊將採取系統化的方法,確定更廣泛的問題,並聯同業界和政府相關者合作,以產生具體成果。

Background

Smart Tourism is a buzzword that people often hear or read about these days. How is it relevant to Macao? Macao has successfully positioned itself over the last two decades as a popular tourist destination at an international level, contributing to the robust economic growth of the city itself.  To maintain this momentum, the adoption of smart tourism can form the basis for innovating the tourism industry, improving service quality, and providing memorable experiences for tourists.

Smart tourism technologies can enhance effectiveness and efficiency on three levels: the destination level where the government sets the overall tourism strategy; the firm level where the hospitality and related industries provide services; and the individual level where the tourists experience what the destination has to offer.

Objectives

Building on the strong foundations of the tourism sector in Macao, the Smart Tourism team at APAEM aims to help Macao develop and advance smart tourism to benefit visitors and local businesses, to enhance the quality of life, and to support sustainability.  The team will approach this challenge from three perspectives:

To fully leverage the unique characteristics of Macao in smart tourism

  • Chinese-Portuguese cultures. Macao possesses a rare blend of Chinese and Portuguese cultures that has been in existence for over four hundred years – this symbiosis has left an indelible mark in the city’s landscape and on its fabric of life. Macao should make full and effective use of this invaluable treasure when formulating its tourism strategy;
  • The Historic Centre of Macao as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. In 2005, a collection of over twenty locations in Macao was designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.  This elevated status has transformed Macao into a world-class tourist destination. By the same token, many sacrifices have been made in the city’s urban development to preserve this “crown jewel”. To balance the costs and benefits of the city’s socio-economic development, more efforts should be made to better promote and manage these valuable resources. Over the years, it has been observed that some of the sites are over-crowded with tourists while others are left idle.  In this light, smart tourism can help to better inform tourists and channel them to different locations, giving the visitors a more enhanced experience while at the same time contributing to long-term sustainability;
  • Integrated Tourism. Developing integrated tourism is one of the major goals of the Macao tourism industry. Currently, the average length of stay of tourists in Macao is relatively short. To expand the length of stay of visitors, it would be desirable to develop more diverse activities and services to entice multi-day stay. For example, Macao and its neighbours – Zhuhai and Hengqin – can partner together to coordinate cross-border tourism routes that can offer multi-faceted attractions. To facilitate such initiatives, smart tourism using innovative technologies can play a proactive role in providing a seamless experience for visitors in the utilisation of tourism resources.

To strengthen cooperation among industry, education and research

The Smart Tourism team at APEAM will promote closer cooperation among industry, education and research in the development of smart tourism for Macao. At present, many small and medium enterprises in Macao are already producing related products and applications, some of which have been sold to the mainland. APEAM can serve as a platform where these sectors can come together to create synergies in areas such as talent nurturing and resource matching to support Macao’s needs.

To conduct in-depth research

To tackle longer-term challenges, a broader direction for development will need to be identified. To accomplish this goal, interdisciplinary collaboration with participants from the Faculty of Business Administration, the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Science and Technology, and the Faculty of Social Sciences will be formed. The Smart Tourism team at APAEM will adopt a systematic approach to identify the broader issue, and work with industrial and government stakeholders to produce concrete results.